My Reading Challenge 2016

fullsizerender14689

 

In January 2016 I decided to do a Reading Challenge. I absolutely love books and reading so this was a perfect opportunity to spice up my reading and read some books that were different. I always have a book in my hand and grab every chance I can to curl up and lose myself in a good story.

The Challenge I decided to go with is this one:

fullsizerender14689

And here’s the story so far, no pun intended lol

fullsizerender14693

 

First up is Winter Solstice by Rosamund Pilcher

A book I own but have never read.

fullsizerender14697

This book was such an easy read and I was soon drawn in by the characters. You actually care about what happens to the people in this book as they are all so relateable. The story follows the life of Elfrida and her dog Horace, when she decides to leave London for a cottage in Hampshire. She suddenly finds herself taking refuge in a house in Scotland whereby all sorts of waifs and strays get taken in over the Christmas period. Its funny, sad, charming and a very good read.

 

Book Number 2  We are all made of stars by Rowan Coleman.

This was a book recommended by my partner cos I don’t have a librarian or bookseller.

fullsizerender14705

I was quite surprised how good this book was cos its not something I would usually go for! Its about a nurse who works in a hospice caring for people who are dying, Stella writes letters for her patients to their loved ones and promises to post them after their deaths. She is suffering from her own personal problems and gets the chance at redemption if she delivers one particular letter on time. I loved this book because its bittersweet and has some utterly lovely moments in it. I’ve actually chosen a poem from it which I’d like to be read at my own funeral! We’ve all gotta go sometime!

 

Book Number 3 Deception Point by Dan Brown

A book Ive been meaning to read.

fullsizerender14695

What can I say, its Dan bloody Brown! My second favourite writer and I’m an avid reader of all his books! I’m also proud to say that I’ve read all his books and am eagerly awaiting the next one.

One thing I can honestly say is all of his books are definite page turners and leave you breathless at the end of each chapter and thirsty to find out what happens next. I always feel as if I’ve been on a rollercoaster when I’ve finished it. But anyway, the gist of this book is a meteorite found by NASA within the Arctic Circle that may provide proof of extraterrestrial life. This ensues attempts by antagonists to stop evidence against it being released!! A must read!!

 

Book number 4: To kill a mockingbird by Harper Lee.

A book recommended by my son.

fullsizerender14699

Haters are gonna hate but I struggled to read this book and didn’t enjoy it at all! There I said it!! I found it slow to read and myself daydreaming while reading it. The best bit is the court case and I’ll stop right there with any more comments. I’m probably the only person in the world who doesn’t like this book and will not be reading the follow up! And yes I did suffer the wrath of my son for not enjoying it!

 

Book Number 5: 1984 by George Orwell.

A book you should have read in school.

fullsizerender14703

Wow!! What a powerful, thought provoking book!! I’m amazed it was written in 1949! There are so many similarities to modern day life in it. Its a brilliant satire on totalitarianism and the power hungry. Its wit and passion issue words of warning to us all as to what would happen if we ever lived in a society such as that. We follow the story of Winston as he lives his everyday life under the power of The Party and what happens when he has thoughts that are his own.

Well worth reading even though its a little heavy at times.

 

Book number 6: Of mice and men by John Steinbeck.

A book you can read in a day.

I loved this book!! The story is about two guys moving from place to place, looking for work. Its set during the Great Depression in America and the characters are George, an intelligent but uneducated man and Lennie, who is a large, strong guy but has limited mental abilities. The story unfolds as they share their dreams of the life they want to have. Unfortunately the story turns upside down and Lennie gets in trouble. I don’t want to give the plot away but its not a happy ending and is very poignant. I had mixed feelings when I finished it. All in all, this was a genuinely lovely book and will be reading more by John Steinbeck.

 

Book number 7: The picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde.

fullsizerender14701

I’m sure you all know this gothic horror story whereby Dorian sells his soul to remain forever young and his portrait ages. I’m halfway through this delightful book and love the style of writing, the acid wit, the sarcasm and intellect of the story. Its the only book written by Oscar Wilde and I think all of his famous quotes are in here. I’m constantly laughing out loud when reading it because who doesn’t love Oscar Wilde quotes?

 

That’s where I am on this challenge and am going away to read now so that I can complete my challenge by the end of the year!

To be continued………

 

Are you doing any reading challenges this year?

What’s your thoughts on the books I,ve read here?

Let me know in the comments box below.

xxx

2 Comments

  1. That’s such an amazing challenge! I love the idea. 🙂
    Maybe I will do it for my next year.
    I’m happy you read Orwell, this book is amazing in such bad/sad way. Very thoughtful book which makes you to think about your life and the world where you live.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

